Pod Of The Day – For Curious People

Lord Sillion aka Captain Future recommends podcast-episodes about creativity, innovation, empathy and entrepreneurship for Entrepreneurs, Startups and Curios people

Gretchen Rubin – Find What’s True for You

Pod Of The Day episode 19 – Gretchen Rubin

Do you want to be a better person? Do you want to embrace good healthy habits everyday?
Yes and Yes I say to that. And I’m still struggling to become this fantasy version of myself.
We are all different and we all tick in different ways. The key here is to understand yourself and all the people around you. Don’t expect everyone else to behave and be motivated like you are. This is of course hard. Still you ned the insight and practice to get better at this.

Why is this important?
Because if you ever are going to do teamwork or collaboration with others it is important to understand how people behave in teams and what motivates people to act and follow good habits and rules.

I first saw Gretchen Rubin on her talk from 99u: The 4 Ways to Successfully Adopt New Habits. So when i now found her on the podcast Good Life Project I was medially intrigued. Together with Tina Roth Eisenberg and Tina Seeling I think that they where the best talks of 99u. I will soon give you a podcast with Tina Roth Eisenberg too. Now on to Gretchen. Give her a listen on Soundcloud or on iTunes.

Gretchen Rubin: How to Build Habits That Change Lives

Gretchen Rubin: How to Build Habits That Change Lives

http://www.goodlifeproject.com/gretchen-rubin/?t=radio

Gretchen Rubin: How to Build Habits That Change Lives

Here are some of my takeaways:

Don’t make healthy “choices”
Make one healthy choice and then stop choosing. Going around making choises all day is hard for the brain. Like shopping for food when you are very hungry. Than it’s better have made the choice beforehand that I only eat this kind of food when I’m hungry and have exercised. Help yourself by having pre-made choices 🙂

Treat yourself
Get some heathy treats to get your energy up. Or play a game. To boost you energy. Do choose a game that is hard and get you into flow. Be it a computer game or a boardgame.

Habits vs experiences
The catch of running around all day on routine and habit is that times flows buys and you seldom get better at anything. There fore it also important that challenge yourself and go on adventure each day. You just have to choose the right kind of adventure. You don’t have brush you teeth in new way each day.

How to slow time?
Me myself don’t like to habaitce my to many choices each day. I always like the lust of adventure each day. o see new places, to think new thoughts, to meet new people and to get better at something.

The four categories of people according to how they make choices and have habits are:
Obliges
Upholders
Questioners
Rebels

I myself to the test and was found to have a dominant Tendency of Questioner. I can have that in mind when I interact with other people that are not like me or like me.

What is my voice?
I understand my subject better if I connect with my readers first. Nothing works in isolation. Even if the reader is just me. Write something that you yourself would like to read. Who are you? What resonates with you?

The best way to move forward in life is to find what is true for you.

What is a Good Life?

I want to cram my life with things I love?
How can I do more reading and writing?
How can I deepen my relationships and how can I broaden my relationships?
And How can I have more energy?

For Gretchen it is:
Reading and Writhing, Friends and Energy

LordSillion
Holistic Thinking Ninja

This is episode 19 in my series #PodOfTheDay and part of the #Blogg100 challenge

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2015 by in Creativity, Mindfullness and tagged , , .
